Jose Fernandez

  29e9830d-b31a-4246-998c-6ca6f5a73ee8-20150417Recently, on Sunday, September 25,  Miami Marlins ace Jose Fernandez was killed in a boating accident.  The news was shocking, and his club‘s game with the Atlanta Braves was cancelled.  Along with that, there was a league-wide moment of silence for the young hurler.  At age 24, Fernandez was showing promise in his young career.  In the last game he pitched, he went 8 innings giving up only three hits, no walks, no runs, and struck out twelve batters.  For the young Cuban, his path to the Major Leagues was like a Cinderella story.  He was not rich in Cuba, but came to pitch in major league baseball making 2.8 million dollars as his salary.  He made his Major League debut in the same year he got his citizenship.  That´s coincidental!  Luckily (at least to me), when he died, he did not drown, but rather died on the impact of the crash.  I personally liked Fernandez, as did major league baseball.  May he always live in our hearts.

10 comments

  1. Even though I am a Royals fan, I was sad when I heard the news. I liked him and he was so amazing. Have you ever been to a Marlin’s game? Go check out my blog at warefgms23.edublogs.org

  2. When I heard the news I started to cry, I had met him and he is a really nice person, he would of made it to the hall of fame so R.I.P Jose Fernadez

  3. This post was good because it gave me more information about Jose Fernandez than I knew and how well he pitched in the major leagues. But I’m very surprised I didn’t know much about him because I am a big baseball fan. I even have a a post about baseball I will link it on the bottom of this comment if you want to check it out. But overall it was a great post.
    Link to my blog http://benmgms23.edublogs.org/
    Link to my baseball post http://benmgms23.edublogs.org/2016/10/13/my-passion/

  4. Hi! My names Brady. I was very sad when I found out about his passing. I didn’t know what would happen after that. I was also sad to see all of the players crying during the moment of silence. What I thought was amazing was when Dee Gordon hit the home run wearing José helmet. That brought a smile to my face right away. I really liked your blog post make sure to check out my blogs at http://2021bda.edublogs.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *