Book Review: Eleanor and Park

WARNING!: SPOILERS!!!!

Have you ever heard of the book Eleanor and Park? No, well you should read this review. 🙂 Eleanor and Park is a romance novel written by Rainbow Rowell. The novel takes place in 1996-1997. But it’s not your average, sappy love story, no, this is different. Park is a misfit. He listens to rock music and wears all black clothes. His mom is from Korea and his dad is a veteran. His dad is disappointed in Park’s behavior and wants him to be a normal boy.  Eleanor is also a misfit, her family is less than normal. Her mom married a guy named Richie after Eleanor’s dad left her mom and the children. Eleanor suspects that Richie is physically abusing her mom, but does nothing in fear of getting hurt herself. Mainly because Richie is always drinking.  At her new school Eleanor gets bullied because she is different. From her clothes, to her hair, to her body, she is different. And on top of all of this, she is poor.

When Eleanor and Park meet, it’s not sparks flying, heart throbbing, head over heels, love at first sight. No, they actually don’t talk to each other for over a month! I would definitely rate this book 5 stars. I would read it again any day, and I definitely recommend it! BUT BE WARNED!!! THIS BOOK MADE ME CRY FOR OVER 15 MINUTES!!! It is very sad at the end. Ok, no more spoilers! If you have read this book, let me know in the comments and tell me what you thought about it. 

 

2 comments

  1. This is one of my favorite books of all time! You really did do a great job summarizing the book, and it is a tear-jerker. Rainbow Rowell is one of my favorite authors. Almost all of her books are fantastic. I recommend Fangirl;)

  2. I have been wanting to read this book, so now that I read your review, I am definitely going to read this soon. I am so glad that you enjoyed this book and you highly recommend it for others. I also need to purchase this for our Library!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *