The Fault in our Stars book review

Hello, viewers! I have had a lot of questions recently about some good books to read, and I’m actually doing a review on one right now. The book is: “The Fault in our Stars” by John Green. Really, any of his books are amazing, but this one is my favorite. You may have heard some quotes from this book, and there will be an excerpt from the book after the article. Well, on with the review!

This book is from the point of view of 16 year-old Hazel Grace Lancaster, a girl with lung cancer. She meets a boy named Augustus Waters, a boy with osteosarcoma, an amputee and an ex-basketball player. They become instant lovers. This story revolves around the incredible love that they shared.

This is one of the best books I’ve ever read. I definitely rate it a 10/10. It’s probably also the saddest book I’ve ever read. So, be sure you have a box of tissues or a roll of toilet paper close as you near the end. You  might think that I’m exaggerating a bit, but honestly, I’m not. I NEVER cry when I read books. This book has some cursing and it’s really romantic. But, it’s very good and I HIGHLY recommend it for people that like realistic fiction/romance books.

Thanks for reading my article and down below, there is an excerpt from the book!

This is the part that made me cry:

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that. There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I’m likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for Augustus Waters than he got. But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”

                                                                                            ~John Green, The Fault in our Stars

“There will come a time when all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this will have been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does.”    ~John Green, The Fault in our Stars

10 comments

  1. Hello pearbear23,
    I want to say, that was an excellent book review.
    The Fault in our stars is one of my favorite books. Have you seen the movie? If you ever have time, you should visit my class blog: flags8.org

    1. Hi ZKing!

      Thanks! I really enjoyed writing this review. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I might watch it soon. I’ll definitely check out your class blog after I reply to the rest of the comments.

      Toodles

  2. Pearbear23,
    This book is also one of my favorites! If I have to rate this book I would give it a 10 too. My friends say that the movie is sadder than the book. Have you watched the movie?
    ahill2
    http://www.flags.org

    1. I haven’t seen the movie, but I would like to watch it some time soon. Any of John Green’s books are great. Another one of my favorites is Paper Towns. Have you read it?

  3. Great review, Peri! You are right. You DO need tissues if you read this book OR if you see the movie. I love the excerpts that you chose. Very profound!

  4. I agree with you! The book ” The Fault in our Stars” is one of the best books ever! It’s really romantic and funny and sad, but understanding all at the same time and all included in one amazing book!

  5. Hello. I read you’re review. It was a descent review. It seems like an ok book. Not one I’ll read but if you say it’s good then maybe I’ll have to trust you. How does it feel to cry while reading a book? Ok. Thanks for writing.

    http://www.Flags8.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *