Red Goblins

My sister and I were trick or treating when they came. We went to a house that we didn’t know was evil. My sister knocked on the door and said “Trick or treat.” A man came out dressed like a wizard and held a bowl of candy. I wasn’t dressed up but people would still give me candy. The man dropped some candy in my sister’s bag but ignored me. I coughed and stared at him. “Yes?” he said. “Can I have some too?” I asked. The man dropped in one piece of candy. “Seriously?” I asked. The man dressed as a wizard made a noise in the back of his through that sounded like a growl. The man went back in his house and grabbed small red action figures, no bigger than my pinkie. He dropped them in my bag and said “Enjoy.” With a sinister smile. We left after that

It happened after I went to bed. I fell asleep easily, all except for my face. It had been itching since I took a nap earlier. The itching was so bad it woke me up. I scratched the side of me head and felt a large bump. I stumbled into the bathroom and stared in horror at my reflection in the mirror.  I usually looked dreadful first thing in the morning, but today it was worse than usual.  Somehow, during the night, my faced turned green. I had little bulges on the everywhere on my head. They squirmed and moved around. I reached up to touch my face and it was all bumpy. The bulges on my head suddenly burst open. Small little creatures jumped out of the bulges. They were red humanoid figures. The creatures landed in the sink and ran in circles. I stared in horror as they jumped out of the sink and scattered around the house. I then passed out.

I woke up in my bed and sat up straight. “It was just a nightmare” I said, trying to comfort myself. But as I stode up, I heard a crunch under my foot. I moved my foot and looked down. There was a red creature like from my dream, broken from my foot. I screamed and ran to my moms room.  I opened the door and she had her back to me and was hunched over. “Mom! There are these red things that popped out of my head and they are really weird and-” She cut me off by whispering “It’s okay. They are friendly.” Then she slowly turned her head all the way around as if she were a barn owl. Her face was green and she had bumps all over her face. Her eyes were milky white and had no pupils.

Then the creatures shot out of her face and landed on her bed. They seemed to have doubled the amount of them. I ran outside but found that there were dozens of them all over the street.

They were running around eating everything. The more they ate the bigger they got. My legs were frozen in fear and I couldn’t move. After they got as big as me they would explode into dozens of dozens of them more of them. I ran into my house and climbed up into my attic. There was a window in there so I climbed out it and on the roof. I curled up there and watched the town that I had lived in for my whole life get destroyed before my eyes. After a while I heard the sound of a helicopter overhead. It hovered over the town and then turned on a spotlight. It moved across the town. I started jumping up and down waving my arms and screaming. The light moved, shined on me, and the helicopter flew over to my house. It dropped down a rope ladder and I climbed up it. They took me to another city and dropped me off at a police department.

I stayed in there for many years and I still live here. It has been one year since that happened and I have the scars that they came from. We called them the red goblins. They still roam the ruined city, destroying everything but one house. In that one house is the man who dressed as a wizard and still wears his costume. -Wizard asleep in chair, close up on his face, then snapped open his eyes and grinned with pointy teeth. Camera suddenly goes black with evil laughter.-

~One year later~

James approached the doorway with caution. The house loomed before him, a crumbling and forbidding giant. Had he not been desperate to shelter from the storm, he would never in a million years have dared to go anywhere near the house, let alone be about to attempt to venture inside. As he looked up and saw the black ravens glaring at him from the roof, he felt a shiver go down his spine. Suddenly, without warning, the door flew open to reveal the vast, gloomy hallway. James took a deep breath and stepped in. It was all dark except for the stairway. There was a small light coming from the top. James creaked up the stairs and thunder crashed. James screamed and ran back down the stairs. “Who’s in my house?” a raspy voice yelled.

It seemed to come from up the stairs. He hear the floorboards creak and the sound of walking. but something was wrong with the walking. It sounded like there was four people walking around, but with one voice. James ran towards the door but it was locked. He ran into the kitchen and looked around. Cobwebs covered everything. There was another door at the back of the kitchen. Lots of thumping sounded in the next room over. “Who are you?!” the voice screamed again. James ran to the door in the kitchen and swung it open. there was a stairway that seemed to go down forever.

He ran down them and nearly tripped four times. The door slammed open behind him. James glanced back and regretted it immediately. There was something so big that it blocked out the light of the doorway. It had lobster claws, eight spidery legs, and were the head would be there was the top half of a man. James ran faster than anyone thought was unsafe. The stairway ended and James looked around. There was a pile of boxes in one corner and a brick on the floor. James jumped in the pile of boxes. The creature came down the stairs and had a lantern in one claw. “Yoo hoo? Come out, come out wherever you are.” It said with a singsong voice.

James looked at it again and saw huge fangs in its mouth. Remembering his report on lions, he noticed they were lion teeth. It had its back to him and was looking around. James threw his hand out and grabbed the brick. He threw the brick in a dark corner and it made a loud crashing noise. The monster leaped over to the corner and smashed his claws into the floor. James jumped up and ran to the stairway and up the stairs. The monster ran after him and up the stairs. James tried to open the door but it was jammed shut. He spun around just as the monster smashed into him. James was thrown back into the door and he crashed through it.

He stood up and for a minute he thought he would get out of this horrible house. Then he remembered the locked door. He got an idea and ran into the kitchen and opened the fridge door. He jumped inside, thinking he was going to wait inside till the thing went to sleep. Suddenly a crash sounded in front of him. He pushed on the door and realized he was locked in. The thing opened the freezer door and cut a hole through the bottom. Through that hole it dropped small things. They landed on him and started biting him. James looked at them and saw they were little red things that walked like humans. He remembered the ruined town that was attacked by them just a two year before. He let out a scream of terror and was slowly consumed by the Red Goblins. THE END

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *