My Favorite Family Celebration

Image provided by Pixabay

For the week eight student blogging challenge I am writing about my favorite holiday along with its traditions and why this particular holiday is special to me. So to start off my favorite family celebration is Christmas.   Before Christmas day on the 25th, my whole family covers my house in decorations. We put up our two Christmas trees. We put our main Christmas tree in the living room where we keep all the presents. Our other Christmas tree is in the basement, we call it the kids Christmas tree because my sisters and I  put all our childhood or handmade ornaments on it.
Every year my grandma gets all my 13 cousins and I an ornament from the Hallmark store.  If you don’t know what the Hallmark store is, it’s basically a store based off of the Hallmark channel that has a bunch of Christmas stories whether its mysteries or love stories.  My mom and I are pretty much the only ones in my family that love Hallmark. We try our best to watch a Hallmark movie every night during their countdown to Christmas movies.
The night before Christmas my mom always gives us an early Christmas present.  Every year she gets my sisters and I matching pajamas to wear that night. We watch a Christmas movie or read The Night Before Christmas in our new pajamas.
On Christmas Day my sisters and I wake up my parents around 7:00 to open presents.  First, my mom has to have her coffee or else she will be grouchy all day. Then we go and open stockings. After we open stockings we open our actual presents.  My mom gets us something we want, need, to wear and to read along with some other presents.
After we are done opening presents we have a small lunch and head over to my grandma’s house.  All my 13 cousins, aunts and uncles are there to open stockings that my grandma gets us. It’s usually filled with small items such as gift cards, fuzzy socks, and candy.
At the end of the day, we have a huge Christmas meal.  It’s a good bonding time to talk with my cousins and catch up.  Some of my cousins live in Dayton, Ohio about 2 hours away from where we live and don’t see them very often.
It’s all fun and games until we have to head back home after a long day.  My sisters and I usually fall asleep on the way home from my grandmas because we live an hour away. When we get home we crash into bed in a snap.  We wake up the next day realizing that we have to wait 365 days until Christmas Day comes back around.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *