Featured Staff Member: Mr. Barnes

          Mr. Barnes is a great technology teacher at McDowell, however there is a lot more to know about him.  I wanted to know what he used to do and what he was actually like.  I knew he got a huge grant last year to get everything has this year, but what did he do when he did not have VR headsets or a green screen or the makey makeys or even the 3-D printer.  Let’s find out!

 

Question – How did you get all of the technology you have?

Answer – A lot of it is from a class that I took to allow the school to get special funds from the state.

Question – What did you do before you had all the technology you have now?

Answer – We did work on the computer and learned a lot about google and practiced typing.

Question – How long have you been teaching?

Answer – This is going to be my twenty-ninth year.

Question – How many people are in your family?

Answer – Me and my wife live in my house with a dog and a cat.  However I have two daughters that are both teachers.

Question – How long have you been married?

Answer – I have been married for twenty-eight years to Beth Barnes

Question – Where did you go to college?

Answer – I went to Ohio University, and attended the Chillicothe and Lancaster campuses for most of college.

Question – Have you always wanted to be a teacher?

Answer – Yes, but while I was in college I worked many jobs such as: working in a shoe repair shop and a factory as well as laying carpet.

Question – If McDowell did not have technology would you still teach here?

Answer – Yes, I hope so.

Question – If you did still teach here what would you teach?

Answer – I would probably teach science again, since I taught science before technology.

Question – What all have you done at McDowell?

Answer – At McDowell I have taught science, technology and I have coached football and high school wrestling.

Question – What sports do you like to watch?

Answer – I like to watch football and baseball.

Question – What is your favorite sport to play?

Answer – I enjoyed football and wrestling when I was in high school.       

These are all of the questions that I asked Mr. Barnes and his answers. Hopefully you learned something about Mr. Barnes as I did.  If only every school could have the same technology that we did.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *