In School Ministries

 

davidsHi! My name is David Williamson and I have now started my own youth group here at McDowell Middle school called In School Ministries. 

This summer me and my friends were working hard to pull this all together. I would work out a lot of the details as I live the closest to a library and we all made the group decisions whenever we could all be in the same place. Then once I got to school, we worked the final details out. We started a little over five weeks ago. So that’s how this whole thing got started.

Every Wednesday at 2:45 p.m. we meet in Mr. Svetek’s room. Our adult supervisor is Mr. Forte from the high school, who also happens to be the FCA adviser for the high school. We like to start out and end with prayer. For our lessons, we are using a Francis Chan youth series on Right Now Media followed by a discussion on what we learned. My friend Logan Seymour and I lead the discussion, but anyone can add their own thoughts into the conversation.

Our lesson plan at the moment is the eternity series for another 1-2 meetings, then we are moving on to prayer. What comes next is still to be decided. Our main goal is to get as many people to find God and find their salvation through Him. There is no rule on who can come and who can’t and you do NOT have to be Christian to come, either. When we get asked questions by someone in or outside of the group we always answer them to the best of our ability. Sometimes, if we have extra time, we watch Christian comedy videos. Hopefully soon we will get into singing worship songs.

Well, that’s a quick overview of what it’s like at In School Ministries. If you have any questions contact David Williamson, Logan Seymour, Brayden Smith, Joey Vaginer, or Ewan Seymour.

Image from:http://michaelnewnham.com/?p=12983

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *