Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief

picsart_10-27-10-26-17I have been reading Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lighting Thief by Rick Riordan. It is based on Greek mythology and is packed with action and adventure. The main character is Percy Jackson. The setting is in Camp Half-Blood, which is located on Long Island, New York.

Percy Jackson finds out something big about him. Something that explains why he has dyslexia and ADHD and all the unusual things that has happened to him in the past. He is a demigod. A demigod is a half human and half God. Being a demigod isn’t exactly easy for Percy either. He gets chased by mythological monsters and has been either kicked out or blown up his schools.

Percy goes to this place called Camp Half-Blood. Camp Half-Blood is the only safe place in the world for people like Percy, demigods. When he got there, he gets claimed by his godly parent, which happens to be Poseidon god of the seas. Claimed is when a god gives someone some sort of sign saying who their son or daughter is. After Percy gets claimed, he soon gets granted a quest to retreve Zeus’s lightning bolt before the summer solstice. Zeus’s lightning bolt has been stolen and he thinks that Percy has stolen it because he is the son of Poseidon. A quest is when a demigod gets chosen by the Oracle to out of camp and do favors of errands for the gods. Percy wasn’t going on this quest alone, he is allowed to bring two companions with him. He chose to bring Annabeth Chase, a daughter of Athena and Grover Underwood, a satyr(half man half goat). Together they took off on a dangerous quest trying to save the world from chaos.

 I would love to tell you more about the story in more detail, but you’ll have to read the book yourself. I really hope that my book review has made you want to read the book. I thought that this was an amazing book and I loved every single page. You should really check it out too.

I got my image from http://ppc.wikia.com

16 comments

  1. Wow, this post was short but still very great. I have read the book before, but I always love to see other people who have read the same books that I have, and loved it just as much. What I loved best about your post was that you didn’t spoil anything. You just stated what Percy’s quest was, but didn’t tell us how it ends, this leaves lots of suspend and really encourages other people to read the book too. I haven’t written a Percy Jackson book review, but I have written one about Maximum Ride, I would love it if you could check it out at https://eemansiddiqui.wordpress.com/2016/10/04/maximum-ride-my-thoughts/
    Keep up the good work,
    Eeman

  2. Great post, I have already read the book but it is nice to see how other people react to it. I have actually read the entire series and the next series that Rick Riordan wrote, and if you like this one I think you’ll like the others as well.

    Anyways, nice job and have a great day.

  3. I read the the lightning thief book too. The book was really good and had good twists in it and I have read the whole series.

  4. I really like this book. I’ve read it and I found it really interesting how they took Greek mythology and fiction and made a interesting story about it.

  5. I love Percy Jackson and the Olympians I read one through 5 then read the other 5 about Gea and the giants. I plan on reading all of them again when i have more time is the 1st book the only one you read if it isn’t what is your favorite one mine is blood of olypmus. Here’s where you can find my blog
    http://dawsonkgms23.edublogs.org/

  6. i really liked this book and the entire series but i feel like after the first series Rick Riordin realized that there was alot of money in this so he just did it again but for new religions. i mean there is Greek, Roman, Norse, Egyptian, and they all follow the same sort of format.

  7. Great post! I also really like the Percy Jackson series and have read every book, including the Heroes of Olympus as well as Trials of Apollo. I really enjoy your thoughts and opinions on this book series as well as the review. I hope you can check out my blog! Here is the link: http://gianncavar8604.blogspot.com/

    Sincerely,
    Gianna

  8. I love Rick Riordan’s books. I have read both the first and second series and might I say they are awesome. If you haven’t read them you totally should.

    Alex O

  9. Hi, I really liked your post. It sounded like it was an interesting book. I’m not really into reading, but that sounds like a book I really might like. Please come visit my blog at 2022kmw.edublogs.org.

  10. Hi Erin,

    First of all, before I say anything, you have to know how much I love the Percy Jackson series. Your post was really an eye-opener to me because I love it so much and a lot of other people in my class like so I can tell them about you. You described the story really well. On my blog, I have made a post about the main characters of Percy Jackson but you have to unjamble the words to reveal the main character’s name. Come check it out at:

    http://trishna6wilderness.edublogs.org/

    Thanks and keep up the good work,
    Trishna

  11. Hi,

    Amazing! There’s another person who’s interested in Rick Riordan’s books :D. I’ve read all of his mythology series and am currently waiting (very impatiently) for the second book of The Trials of Apollo and the third book of Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. I go quite crazy over the books O.O

    ~Angela
    http://hmsangela.edublogs.org/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *