Around Me

Around Me

 

I see the sunshine of the early morning
gleaming off the dew that formed overnight on the grass,
that is mixing with the abundance of dandelions.  

I hear the birds singing their morning songs to the world,
above the humming and grating of the golf cart raking the baseball diamond in rhythmic circles.

I smell The floral scent of Grace’s shampoo
mingling with her B.O
and the cool, sharp freshness of the 8:29 morning air
and the metallic odor of worn bleachers.

 I taste the dull flavor of the grass I just shoved in my mouth
and think of the sweet taste of victory after winning a soccer game.

I touch the rubber toe of Allyson’s size seven blue converse after I’d asked her
and she looks at me like I’ve lost my mind somewhere on my way.

I feel the pull the High school soccer field has on me,
drawing me in to play the sport I love right now,
I feel the need and gratefulness to be able to play
and with a team that I’ve played with for so long.
Yet this is the field I would play against them on.  

I wonder what goes through the thoughts of those who have to sit through a long and boring test, and why we have to take the map test when other schools don’t have to.

I wish animals voices would be heard,
because those who test and abuse them
certainly do not hear the intelligence and kindness these voices hold.

I hope that when I get older the high school still has a soccer team,
I want to play for my school
and get a date on the swaying banners in the gym

I know my mind wanders,
I think of the most random things,
I was very distracted as I wrote this,
I believe that a good imagination can get you far in life,
as long as it’s organized and controlled.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *