The Hocking Hills

The Hocking hills is located in the Southeastern part of Ohio.  There are caves, and lots of trees.  In the Hocking Hills there are several different state parks.  Obviously there are hills in the Hocking hills.  It is a deciduous forest so the trees lose there leaves in the fall.  

In the Hocking Hills there are some caves, and trees.  Some animals that live there are the white tail deer, squirrel, salamander and many more.  There are many state parks in the hocking hills such as:  Old Mans Cave. and Hocking Hills State Park.  It has waterfalls, hiking trails, lakes, and campgrounds. Views are amazing especially in the fall.

Tar Hollow is another state park, there is a lake, hiking trails and a campgrounds. There is also a creek and mini golf. I like to hike in the woods, the only part I don’t like is the bugs.  Also, I like to swim in the lake. The Hocking Hills is a good place to spend your day no matter what park you are at. 

tarhollow1

Images from:  http://www.stonewallcolumbus.org/event/lgbtq-hiking-club-sep15

http://parks.ohiodnr.gov/tarhollow

One comment

  1. Thank you for writing about these 2 great Ohio State Parks. Tar Hollow State Park holds a very special place in my heart because my family and I lived there for 28 years while my husband was the Park Manager. My kids enjoyed fishing and swimming in the Pine Lake, sledding down the dam, hiking the trails, climbing the Fire Tower, hunting morel mushrooms, and making many more memories. The only thing I did not enjoy while living at Tar Hollow was the spring and fall invasion of Asian ladybugs!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *