The Grimace’s

By Ian and Travis

It was a cold, lifeless night during trick-or-treating. Winds were unusually spooky and deceiving. My brother was going as a ninja, which was really cool. I haven’t been trick-or-treating for a while, but it was always fun for me. Both of us went down where the rich people live, where they give the biggest pieces of candy. But there was a house on the road that looked extremely suspicious. 

There was a man outside looking at us.

“Hey, Dan, you wanna go up to the spooky house?” I asked

“Pfft, there’s no way it can be THAT scary.” He cockily replied.

“If you say so,” I said. “Then let’s go on in!”

“Better not go in that house, fellas.” the stranger said. “Want to hear a story?”

“Sure, sir.” I politely replied

“Back in the 1700’s, there was this rich family that lived right where you were gonna go. They were called the Grimace’s. People adored the family and always had liked them. But one Halloween night, an unknown man killed all family members except one. They say that the final alive family member put a curse on that house of that says, “ My family will haunt this place until the murderer is put in jail.” Then, no one has touched that house since.”

“Who was the last family member?” Dan questioned.

He continued, “You might find that out for yourself.”

We walked over to the house, and I wanted to ask another question, but when I looked back, he was gone.

“What are you looking at?’’ Dan said.

“N-Nothing,” I replied.

“Scaredy Cat!”

We walked up to the gigantic abandoned mansion. The wind shifted fast, and I got pushed back onto the stairs. I forced myself through the wind and climbed up the stairs. Once again the wind shifted and blew the door shut. We tried opening it again, it opened a crack, but the wind quickly blew it shut again. We noticed the faint outlines of candles and paintings, but other than that, the darkness consumed everything.

“Hey, didn’t you bring a flashlight because you were paranoid about us going through dark alleys?” I asked Dan.

“Yeah.” He quietly replied.

“Well, looks like your paranoia just payed off.” I told him.

He turned the flashlight on and for a second, and I thought I could see the outline of a figure hanging from the ceiling, but it was just in my imagination, or so I thought.

“Did you see that?” Dan asked me in an alarmed tone.

I panicked for a second, as I thought it was just my stereotypical imagination acting up. The thing slowly opened up its eyes, showing that it was Not human. Dan started to show his light to the “Thing”, and it was Definitely unfriendly. Then the creature showed itself completely, making both of us gag.

“D-Dan?” I asked.

“What?’’ he replied.

“I think we should start RUNNING!”

My brother was the first up the stairs, just before me. Just then, more figures came out of the walls and chased us, making us even more scared. I slipped and fell, hitting a bookcase that turned to the other side. But the spider-mutation-creature grabbed ahold of my ankle, but I quickly kicked it away. Dan helped me into the room. Then the ghosts shivered away, like there was a force field in front of us. And like that, we were safe, for the most part.

“Are you alright?” I exhausted, out of breath.

“No,” he howled, “We just got chased by who-knows-what out there, and mom and dad are gonna kill us!” He was right.

I looked down, realizing that is was a dumb question. I then started looking for some way to get out of this horrifying place. Dan’s flashlight went out, and that’s when I started to get even more worried. I could still hear the spider-mutation-creature banging against the wall. I started to find a way out by pushing myself against the wall for a door. I found a door, and pushed so hard that the door fell down. I found myself staring into the eyes of the spider-mutation-creature. It screamed and blew us back into the library.

“Arin! Grab that piece of wood!” Dan exclaimed.

Dan handed me the piece of wood, and I slammed the wood on the Spider as hard as I could. It let out a loud shriek and slowly walk off to die.

“Well, that’s one problem down,” I said. “we still need an exit plan.”

We were greeted by a hallway, which looked actually, kind of neat. There was no cobwebs, no dust, and nothing to block our path. And near the end of the hallway, there was a way out.

“Oh my gosh!” I exclaimed. “Time to go home!”

Dan started to run, which then he triggered something on the ground.

“Do you hear that?” Dan said quietly.

The ground started shaking, and then the floor beneath us fell. we fell for 5 seconds and landed in what seemed to be the basement. We both landed on our sides.

“Oww,” Dan groaned. “that was a hard fall.”

Then we heard a human voice coming from above.

“Hey!” a man called. “You need some help?”

“Yes, PLEASE!” I shouted.

The man pulled us up from the hole with some rope and got us some water. We explained the whole story to him about the Giant Mutant Spider and all the creepy things here. Just then, we heard a loud shriek coming from the corridor.

“I’m ready to get out of here!” Dan yelled.

Dan let a break for it and busted through the doors and there was the source of the shrieking. It was a spirit of some sort, and looked like a lady in her 30’s.

“Oh…my…” The police officer slowly said. “Everyone! Cover your ears!”

Dan and I covered our ears and started running to the main entrance. Her screaming was enough to make the whole mansion tremble. We made it downstairs, but the door was still jammed.

“Everyone push on three!”

I could barely hear what he was saying, but I got the message. We started banging until the door finally opened, to see that it was about sunrise.

“It’ll be okay once the sun rises!” The man said.

And then, the sun rose and gave a beautiful glow on the horizon. The spirit exited outside, and soonly evaporated to dust.

“Thank you so much Mr.” I thanked. “Would you mind driving us home? Our parents are probably worried sick.”

“No problem!”

Once we got home, our parents were fast asleep, and didn’t even notice we were out all night. We quickly went into our beds so no one would notice.

“Keep this a secret?” Dan asked.

“Yeah, definitely.”

A few days later, when Dan and I were walking down the street near where the house was, it was gone. Our parents (who grounded us, by the way) said that there never was a house there. We went back up to our rooms. I thought that there was no way it was a nightmare, it felt to real. Plus, Dan was with me. And that man who was there… maybe he had something to do with it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *